Share |


about the country



Nepal is one of the richest countries in the world in terms of bio-diversity due to its unique

 geographical position and variation in altitude. The elevation of the country ranges from 60

 meters above sea level to the highest point on earth, Mt. Everest at 8,848 meters, all within

 a distance of 150 kilometers only resulting in climatic conditions from sub-tropical to Arctic. 

Nepal is occupying only 0.1 % of the earth and is home to: 2 % of all the flowering plants in 

the world


8 % of the world’s population of birds (more than 848 species).

4 % of mammals on earth.

11 of the world’s 15 families of butterflies (more than 500 species).

600 indigenous plant families.

8 of the 14 highest (8000 m) peaks of the world


Nepal at a glance:

Official Name: Federal Democratic Republic of Nepal

Area: 147, 181 square kilometers.

Geography: Situated between China to the north and India to the south,

east & west. Highthest point Mt. Everest (8848 m) and the lowest 

(60 m above sea level) Kechana


Capital: Kathmandu – surrounded by four hills – Fulchowki, Chandragiri Shivapuri and 

Nagarjun. Kathmandu valley has three major cities Kathmandu, Bhaktapur and Patan.

 Situated at the altitude of 4,500 feet above sea level, Kathmandu is home to seven 

UNESCO World Heritage Sites. Before the unification of Nepal in the 18th century, the

 three cities were independent states ruled by the Malla Kings.

Population: 26.5 million (according to the census of 2011)

Language: Nepali is the national language. However English is spoken by


People/Religion: Nepal has more than 105 ethnic groups with diverse culture, 

traditions and lifestyle. Nepali people can be divided into two distinct groups: Indo-Burman and Mongoloid. Nepal is a secular state with majority of people following Hinduism.  However, people practicing Buddhism, Christianity and Islam among others live in a good harmony.

Politics: Multi-party Democracy.

Administrative Division: Though Nepal is a federal republic, federal states are yet to be carved. Nepal is divided into five development regions, 14 Zones and 75 Districts.

Climate: Nepal has four seasons, namely; (1) winter – December to  February,  (2) Spring – March to May, (3) summer  June to August  & (4) Autumn - September to November . Nepal can be visited the whole year around.

What to wear: Light weight clothing is recommended for May through October, Warm garments are required in October through till march. An umbrella or a raincoat is a must for the rainy season. (June /July)

Voltage: Standard voltage only 220 volts